Lemon Two Ways & A New Friend

DSC_0009

Well it seems that summer is finally here. It’s “hot” and muggy and it seems like it’s here to stay. I say “hot” because 80-90’s isn’t that bad. Back home in Tucson temps are reaching 112. *___* blech! The mugginess on the other hand is terrible.

With the warmer summerier (I think I just made up a word…) weather, I’m starting to crave “summer” foods. I picked up a lemon at our farmers market, not sure what I wanted to do with it but hey you can ALWAYS use  a lemon right? right.

photo-15

I saw a recipe for lemon cookies on pintrest and knew THIS is what my lemon was destined for (!) but when I went to the recipe it required a box of lemon cake mix. This was a problem, I didn’t have a box of lemon cake mix and I definitely didn’t want to acquire one. So after a bit of searching I finally found one that seemed up my alley and I had all the ingredients for. I went with this one from little bitty kitchen. This was my first time at this blog but I will definitely be back. Its very lovely ^__^

photo-11

Cookies all crinkly and ready for another dusting of sugar..

photo-12

My boyfriend *had* to taste test a few and taste testing just can’t wait!

I decided to use the rest of my lemon for iced tea! I have fond memories of my mom making suntea in a big glass tea jar. I loovvveee sun tea there’s just a little something special the sun adds. I don’t know if it gets hot enough here to make sun tea but it may be worth a try.

photo-9

Sun or no this lemony tea hit the spot and a mason jar made it all the better 🙂

Now I’m sure you’re wondering where does the new friend come it?

photo-14

Do you see him?

photo-13

I’d like to introduce you to Sir Bartholomew Finderdinks the second. Sir Bart the first (as dubbed by a good human friend) was a companion in the fall but sadly he stopped visiting. Then the other day this fellow showed up! I must say I’ve never seen a squirrel wag its tail a someone before. I hope to see more of him. We love to watch the squirrels running about and playing with each other. Its especially entertaining when the birds hang out and yell at them. The squirrels don’t seem to notice or mind.

What summer foods are you making this summer?

Leave a Reply

